Some people believe that corporal punishment helps to improve students' behavior, while others think it could be detrimental in many ways. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is commonly suggested that corporal punishment helps to better student's behaviour, others believe it could be harmful in many ways. I'm going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, there are more efficient methods of educating students than corporal punishment. On the one hand, it is argued that it is helpful to use corporal punishment to make students behave better. The main reason is that when students make a mistake and are punished with corporal, they will remember it for a long time; therefore, they will not have a tendency to repeat it in the future. For example, in primary school, I made some mistakes and my teacher hit my hand, which made me change my behaviour and not repeat the mistakes when I moved on to Secondary School and High School. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that corporal punishment could bring about several negative effects in various ways. People often have this opinion because there are already some reports showing data about a proportion of students having serious psychological trauma. In fact, some schools have problems when the students cannot continue to go to school after they receive corporal punishment. For example, in 2020, it was reported in The New York Times that 70% of high schoolers have serious psychological crises in 100 high schools using corporal punishment in America. In conclusion, while some people think that corporal punishment can help to improve student's behaviour, others believe it could be in many aspects. Personally, I tend to believe that there are other ways to educate students efficiently, we don't need to use corporal punishment in a learning environment.