Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not mortally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have capital punishment or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe the arguments for capital punishment are stronger. On the one hand, there are clear arguments that the benefits of killing violent criminals bring a lot of relief and peace to people who are petrified of them. One of the main reasons can be that the fear of execution acts as a deterrent to commit serious crimes such as rape and murder of other humans. This means that the execution of a criminal may bring relief to the suffering victims. For instance, Jewish people still fall into despair when they memorise the moments of Hitler's execution. Then, many of the victims whose families were ruined under his rule expressed true freedom and relief when after World War 2nd he finally committed suicide after news of the German army's loss. On the other hand, I agree with the viewpoint that the death penalty is not morally just. Firstly, I believe that sentencing criminals to death is just committing another murder and many religions are opposed to any form of murder. A particularly good example here is from the Bible or the Quran, which lists killing another person as one of the most severe sins. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that capital punishment is justified. This is because in cases of extreme crime deterring crime is more important than taking the moral high ground.