Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial issue regarding the neglect of the main purpose of traditional or religious festivals in recent times, with the focus shifting more towards mere enjoyment. While, I agree that the emphasis on happiness has increased during festival times, I do not completely believe that the true meaning of those festivals has been forgotten. On one hand, religious and traditional festivals have become times for celebration. In Iran, Eid Ghadir is a good example of a religious festival. People most associate this occasion with going to each other's house and having a good time. Most people look forward to Eid Ghadir as an opportunity to have fun rather than a time for practising religion. Similarly, we can see during non-religious festivals, for example, Eid Nowruz. In the Nowruz period, people are most concerned with cleaning their houses, shopping, giving and receiving presents and enjoying traditional meals like Herb rice with fish with their family. However, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of festivals has been forgotten. In Iran, pupils learn in detail about religious reasons for celebrating Eid Ghadir and a variety of festivals in other religions. Meanwhile, families also play a significant role in passing down knowledge about religious festivals to the succeeding generation. The same is true for festivals that have a historical background, such as Nowruz or Yalda night, in the sense that people generally learn the stories behind those occasions at an early age. In conclusion, nevertheless, people generally want to enjoy themselves during festivals, from my point of view they are still aware of the meaning behind these festivals.