These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary school. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Nowadays, in many countries, there has been a sharp drop in the number of young people who want to become teachers, especially in secondary schools. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this and give some solutions. To begin with, the main problem is that teaching has become one of the lowest-paid jobs. Graduates these days prefer to pursue more lucrative careers such as banking and IT programming. That is because they can usually earn twice as much money working in those spheres. Particularly in Uzbekistan, many teachers with five years of experience earn as much as IT programmers who just finished their courses. The problem could be solved by the government allocating increased funding for teachers, which would attract more people into this profession.    Another problem is that many students misbehave in lessons. That, in turn, makes it difficult for teachers to conduct classes, for teachers not only have to deliver knowledge but also deal with pupils who disobey them. This tends to put off potential teachers as well. To solve this problem, parents should give their children a sense of respect for teachers, or corporal punishment should be brought back, in order to make children behave better in class.   The third cause of the problem is that teachers often have too much work to do. They are often snowed under with paperwork, which means that they have to work in the evenings and have little time for their family. This makes their job tiring and ruins teachers ’ work-life balance. The solution could be reached by reducing teachers ’ working hours and involving more teaching assistants, which would make teaching an easier job. To sum up, teaching has become a less attractive job in many countries because of the low salary, pupils’ behaviour, and the burden of work. Unless we tackle these issues, teaching will remain one of the least prestigious jobs, and education at schools will continue to suffer. In my opinion, the main responsibility for solving the problem lies with parents and the government.