Some people feel a country can't be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. Others disagree with this view. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

A section of the public asserts that being economically and environmentally successful doesn’t go hand in hand. However, the notion of this is the opposite for the other half. The discussion about whether nature can be well-kept while experiencing growth in wealth will be elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs. Life has progressed by leaps and bounds due to several reasons, such as invention, lifestyle, which includes food choices, travelling and fashion. The list is never-ending, as are the needs and demands of the people. Therefore, private companies take advantage of the situation and tempt the citizens to purchase more for their profit. For instance, the fast fashion industry is one of the significant contributors to the climate crisis, nearly 85% of textiles are dumped in the water bodies, either due to minor defects or by the commoners for merely the cloth being old. As a result, this kind of act poses a threat to aquatic animals, not only that, it also pollutes water and degrades the quality of soil. On the other hand, to curb the rising concern many environmentalists, politicians and influencers are promoting the concept of recycling which has been one of the oldest and sustainable methods for generations. To exemplify, an NGO named ‘Goonj’ in India has conducted a programme of collecting old clothes and shoes only to recycle them into carry bags and slippers, respectively, and distributing them among the neediest. Similarly, the commoners can too adopt this method of reusing stuff to make blankets, door mats, napkins and plenty of other things out of old clothes, this was the same way our forerunners used to do. Lastly, in my point of view, to make the world a liveable place, it is imperative that every individual work together and take necessary measures to enhance nature. Additionally, Policymakers must introduce some firm laws that restrict the use of products which are hostile to the environment. To conclude, achieving monetary success as well as keeping the environment safe seems a difficult task for some, while others claim the opposite. Because these people believe in promoting the former method of repairing and then reusing again. And not discard it after single use or for any faulty reason, this further affects the overall ecosystem by harming animals, and impurifying water and soil. However, the issue can be limited by adopting preventive measures and cooperation of every individual and by introducing strict laws.