Spoken communication is always more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by some people that the spoken language always holds more power than the written language. While I concur that speaking is more influential since it is diverse and manipulative, this is not always the case. On the one hand, spoken language is more powerful because it comes in various ways, meaning that it can be delivered through tone, facial expressions or the look in one’s eyes. Unlike the written language, it is supported by a wide range of expressions and implications, making it easier to influence listeners. For instance, when speaking, a low-pitched tone could sound more intimidating and threatening. In addition to this, the weight of the spoken language could easily be altered by adding a slight change to one of the mentioned factors. To illustrate, by sounding serious and showing an indifferent face, the speaker could present the impression of sarcasm instead of sincerity. That said, in some cases, the use of written language could bring about a more significant impact. This is because when things come in the written form, they present a higher level of formality. Therefore, it is more appropriate sometimes to use written communication, especially when human rights or law are involved. For example, salary announcements should always be printed since it guarantees a higher extent of authentication and reliability. Furthermore, written communication can be remembered more quickly than spoken information. If people forgot what they were announced, they could recall it by reading the documents again which those having a conversation obviously cannot do. In conclusion, whilst it is undeniable that spoken language is more powerful with the aid of body language, facial expressions or intonations, it is completely wrong to regard it as always more impactful than written language, particularly when formality is needed.