The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, fossil fuels play a crucial role in modern society. While some people regard searching for safe alternatives as the top priority, I am strongly opposed to this argument, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. Since scientific breakthroughs are usually unpredictable, finding another energy source seems not economical. In other words, even if governments or businesses keep investing in relevant fields, the results are still unknown or might be in vain eventually. For instance, although the Taiwanese government has allocated over 10 billion dollars to the development of solar power during the past decades, neither advancement nor improvement is shown according to a study conducted by the Department of Economics in Taiwan. Therefore, the majority of the Taiwanese still highly rely on the use of fossil fuels despite the fact that they cause pollution to our environment. Another major concern is that people have been accustomed to the use of fossil fuels since industrialization, and replacing such a widely accepted habit can be challenging. After all, products composed of fossil fuels exist in our daily lives everywhere, and I doubt that individuals are able to live without them. To name just a few, plastic bags and some shirts all contain a certain percentage of crude oil, both of which are prevalent in our surroundings. In addition, employers at gasoline or other related factories will be forced to change their careers, which can lead to heated disputes or even social disorder. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, finding safe alternatives is not the first priority nowadays due to the limited budgets and people’s long-existing habits.