Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s global interactions, the idea of learning a second language has been attracting lots of individuals. It is argued that journeying and working abroad is the sole and main factor, however, some, including myself, disagree and mention there are other criteria such as personal and recreational satisfaction behind the scenes, the debate will be discussed in this essay. The improvement in globalization causes growing national companies, to transfer employees to other countries for projects or meetings is inevitable, so knowing a common national language is not only providing a convenient trip for them but also bringing career promotions. Furthermore, those who learn the destination tongue in their travels, are mostly keen to communicate with locals to discover unknown attractive places and delicious foods as well as preventing to be robbed or deceived. By contrast, there are some learners who are keen to learn other languages since they appreciate the culture and history of other nations, in other words, they are enthusiastic about knowledge. Moreover, bilinguals or multilinguals are aware of the beneficial effects of learning new vocabulary and grammar for fostering cognitive skills, retraining memories, and progressing brain functions generally. The further reason is that linguistic proficiency helps to find better job opportunities in their own country, as global interactions and being updated in research areas a critical factors to success. In conclusion, it would appear that learning a foreign language is merely for job and travel purposes, although personal preferences improving mental abilities, and winning the race in the job market are other reasons which have equal effects at least.