Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In the past few decades, there have been rapid advancements in technology. It is often said that these innovations have been instrumental in bringing people together. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support modern technology cite evidence from social media applications, such as WhatsApp or Messenger, which allow people to video-call their loved ones, despite where they reside. Many families in India, for instance, feel comfortable sending their kids to study abroad, as video-sharing will enable them to feel connected still. Furthermore, proponents of technological advancements claim that the Internet provides a platform for individuals to make new friends online, which can help ones who might feel awkward in social situations foster new connections through online websites, such as Tumblr or Reddit. To the supporters of this idea, these benefits are convincing. In contrast, opponents of these technological advances feel that online interaction is superficial, and does not facilitate deep bonds among people. For example, most individuals who have hundreds of followers on Instagram lack deep connections whom they can rely on. Another argument that can be made is online applications, such as InstaCart invented to bring convenience to people’s lives often reduce door-to-door interaction between neighbours. Individuals are more inclined to order sugar, rather than pay a visit to their neighbour, which further creates a divide as they no longer know the residents of their community. In conclusion, although modern technological developments have allowed many families to stay connected while being apart, it appears that it has had a stronger impact on creating distance among members of society.