Developments of technology are causing environmental problems. Some people think the solution is that everyone accepts a simpler life, while others believe that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many environmental woes have been attributed to the use of cars, electronic products, air-conditioning, refrigerators and other products. I would argue that technology is the solution to these problems, although living a green lifestyle can also be important. Some People consider living a simple life as a significant step to tackling environmental woes. Modern life relies heavily on different kinds of machines and devices, while a green lifestyle minimises the use of any kind of technology. By changing lifestyles, such as avoiding the excessive use of electrical appliances, environmentally-conscious people argue that electricity consumption can be reduced and that electronic waste will decline as well. By comparison, they do not count on technological change to remedy the situation since even the most environmentally friendly technology involves the use of plastic and metals, which can eventually become solid waste and cause environmental destruction. On the other hand, some people may see technology as the solution to environmental problems caused by modern life. The growing concern about the environmental cost of modern lifestyles has pushed innovators to slow or even avoid the damage to the natural world. There has been meaningful progress in the development of clean energy, such as wind power, solar power and other renewable resources, which can be harnessed to generate power without causing air pollution. Some eco-benign inventions, such as electric or hybrid cars have been promoted as a replacement of traditional cars to cut down on greenhouse gas emissions. Without the technological innovations, the environmental problems caused by our everyday activity is likely to continue because even the most sustainable lifestyle can create waste and entail energy consumption. In my view, technology alone does not negate the damage caused by our activity to the environment, and lifestyle change is equally important. Population expansion has driven the demand for energy and raw material, and despite living a simple life, people will find that energy consumption and waste management will continue to cause environmental damage. In this case, going green should be supported by adopting advanced eco-benign products. Meanwhile, in spite of the tremendous advance in green technology, it is virtually impossible to avoid the environmental impact of electricity generation and waste disposal; in other words, technology is not a remedy for all problems unless people lead a sustainable lifestyle. In conclusion, we should take initiative to reduce the impact of our lifestyle on the environment, as technology cannot tackle environmental problems.