Government should spend more money on education than sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that the government should distribute a greater budget to education compared to sports. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that the government invest in education. One of the main reasons can be that education has some long-term impact on the nation's development. This means that well-educated citizens contribute significantly to the economy and society in the long term. Another reason can be that spending money on education can support research and development in various fields. For example, in 2020 it was reported in The New York Times that education is the top 3 fields the government of America spend money on development. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that the government should distribute a lot of money on education than sports. Firstly, the sports industry can contribute to the economy of the nation. This is because investment in stadiums and training facilities can help attract people like sports in the world. In fact, when have some events about sports such as the World Cup or the Olympics in some countries, it can help contribute to the budget of these nations. Secondly, sports have significant impacts on the minds of citizens about health. This means that nowadays, people often spend a lot of their time for work and their leisure time to rest or relax with smartphones; therefore, they should realize meaning of the exercise and play sports that help them have mental health and physical health to begin new work days. In conclusion, although it is widely believed that the government should spend more money on education than sports, I’m convinced that the government needs to balance the budget to develop both education and sports.