It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Some believe that educating children on the distinction between good and wrong should involve punishment. While I accept that children can learn the difference between right and wrong at a young age however to teach good behaviors to children without facing further hassles, some light punishments should be taken. To commence with, some parents believe that punishment can be an effective way to teach children about the consequences of their actions. Because of this, if children are punished for something they did wrong, they will quickly realize that it was wrong and will stop themselves from doing it in the future. For example, if children take their friend's toy without their friend's permission, parents should inform the children by giving light punishment that their action was a form of theft so that they will not do this in the future. That said, penalties can have a detrimental impact on kids because at this age they are immensely sensitive and thus punishment cannot help them make the proper decision. In my opinion, if parents and teachers scold or spank children for their misbehavior, may bring about adverse effects. Therefore, parents and teachers need to understand the difference between discipline and abuse and use light punishments, consisting of asking them to do household chores, taking away children ’s pocket money, and so forth. It is unlikely that such penalties will hurt their feelings and destroy the bond of empathy and companionship between parents and children. In Conclusion, in my view, although offspring should be able to distinguish between right and wrong behavior at an early age, punishment can have a devastating effect on youngsters, and their parents and teachers ought to be cautious not to hurt their feelings, only light punishment should be carried out.