In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In various parts of the globe, healthcare is a luxury and can only be afforded by the wealthy. Proponents believe that medical services should be made free of cost and accessible by the authorities. I strongly agree with this argument as it promotes a healthy population contributing to a prosperous economy and improving socio-economic status. Firstly, access to healthcare is a fundamental right of every citizen. A healthier population is more productive, contributing to the economy of the country. When people are not burdened by heavy medical bills, they can allocate their assets to different sectors such as education and business, which can further stimulate the economy. In my own country, public health services such as free vaccination drives and subsidizing healthcare has significantly impacted the population, from eradicating Polio to giving financial security to low-income families. Secondly, providing free healthcare improves socio-economic status, In countries where healthcare is expensive and paid, only the rich have access to the best treatment. This disparity deepens the gap between socio-economic classes. Whereas, universal healthcare levels the playing field and gives every individual an equal opportunity to live a healthy life, essential for social harmony and justice. However, it is important to note that free healthcare can burden the national budget which is a valid concern. This can lead to a spike in taxation and inflation costs. Thus, it is important to allocate funds carefully without harming the economic status of the country. In conclusion, I firmly believe that healthcare should be a free service provided by the government. Ensuring universal access to healthcare is essential not only for improving individual well-being but also to contribute to a fair and equal society.