The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Whoever commits a crime on roadways there is only one way to safeguard the life of a people and that is by providing harsh penalties to drivers. I totally disagree with this and think that accidents might occur at any time and that punishment is not always a solution. Firstly, on highways, there is a maximum possibility of accidents and most of them are unintentional. We can not be sure when exactly it is going to happen on a road trip. For instance, there is a zebra cross nearby but if a child crosses from the other side of a road where he is not supposed to and a car running at a great speed collides and dies on the spot then it is unfair to say it's driver's fault. Thus, instead of penalizing or making laws against drivers people should be made aware of traffic rules and regulations. On the other hand, accidents are inevitable but they can be lessened to some extent. For example, in Nepal, the majority of highway roadways are in the worst condition meaning they are not paved well. In this case, if a driver drives normally all day and has years of experience but if the condition of the road is poor then someday he might have to face the consequences. That's why it is necessary to refurbish roads timely. To conclude, to avoid incidents on roads,rather than providing penalties to drivers it is crucial to provide knowledge to pupils about traffic rules and maintenance of the road time and again.