Some people have advocated for a decrease in the time that people spend watching television. Why do you think they hold this opinion? What can be done to reduce the time that people, especially children, spend in front of television screens?

Although people used to spend a big proportion of their time watching TV shows, this trend is in a constant decrease nowadays. Spending too much time in front of TV content poses a formidable threat to youngsters, depreciating their time value and health. I uphold the view that the substitution of this habit with a prolific one may eventually halt the time spent watching television. To begin with, the human eye is known to be the worst affected physical organ as a result of years of exposure to television. To set an example, during the early 2000s, the number of patients with degraded eyesight issues skyrocketed due to overindulging in TV programs, reaching an all- time high. Moreover, watching an excessive amount of television can also distract people from reality by instilling and brainwashing the target audience with perilous content. For example, certain TV programs such as legacy media outlets are infamous for displaying inappropriate content that can set a wrong example for young viewers. On the flip side, some proactive measures can be taken into account in order to shrink the average television screen time spent by juveniles. As a first step, alternative habits should be developed and exercised by children's parents to discourage them from consuming television content. Healthy habits such as engaging in outdoor games, reading books or socializing can play a crucial role in developing essential soft and social skills in children. Secondly, early programming the youth might also be a prudent action to teaching them how to forswear watching useless TV programs and pursuing a similar life forward. In conclusion, parents play a crucial role in educating their kids in controlling their habits which will dramatically decrease the screen time and damage caused to the eyesight.