It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

In this dynamic global landscape, undeveloped regional stores may find it challenging to compete with larger supermarkets and online stores. This situation will reduce the number of customers of local shops. To overcome that problem, they are instigated to provide a door-to-door service to their routine shoppers. The most obvious consequence is they will lose their regular customers. They will shift to bigger and more luxurious shopping centres because they are more convenient, easier to access, and sometimes offer greater discounts. For instance, during the month of Ramadan, several convenience stores put a mega-deal discount on their dairy products. Therefore, shoppers prefer to them rather than local stores. This also can be said for online stores. Since they are, reliable, effortless, and rapid, most consumers prefer to shop from their own comfort, rather than visit a conventional one. To tackle the problem, merchants of these stores should adapt to this developing technology. They could provide delivery or home shopping services by utilising modern communication systems such as WhatsApp and Facebook. By implementing this program, they still can interact and reach their regular shopper and prevent them from moving to supermarkets or even electronic stores. For example, they can put their service's advertisement by posting in the neighbourhood's WhatsApp group. In conclusion, regional shops are losing their regular customers due to the fact they tend to purchase their needs in larger supermarkets and even online stores because they are offering discounts and ease of access. However, by providing home delivery service, they can still attract shoppers and reduce the number of shifting consumers towards bigger groceries and cybershops.