Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

With advancements in technology, more individuals have gained access to smartphones. Moreover, due to their increased availability and cheaper rates, more children can be seen using their mobile phones, which increases the likelihood of misuse. I partially believe that this is a negative trend, as these devices provide easy entree to harmful content or distractions. To begin with, globalisation has been the leading factor in the development of digital devices, primarily mobile phones. Furthermore, due to their increased availability and cheaper rates, adults began to purchase these gadgets for their work. Gradually, with COVID-19 acting as a catalyst, businesses and educational institutions moved their operations to a digital base in order to sustain in these harsh conditions. This, in turn, forced parents to purchase these gadgets for their children so that they can continue their students without problems. Additionally, in recent years, social media platforms have gained enormous followings and helped establish a societal norm that emphasizes the importance of owning a mobile phone, regardless of age, often driven by peer pressure and the desire to fit in. Some argue that these devices are essential in a person's life because they help individuals stay informed about global updates through digital news and even enable them to work remotely from the comfort of their homes. However, most children are underage to take on a job and therefore, spend their valuable time watching, for instance, Instagram Reels or in meaningless online interactions. Furthermore, these gadgets hinder parental supervision by providing their children easy access to harmful and inappropriate content and this can lead to smartphone addiction, negatively impacting their studies and ultimately, their future. In conclusion, the growing trend of owning a smartphone is negative for children due to their negative consequences, for instance, easy access to harmful and inappropriate content and smartphone addiction. Ultimately, causing them to suffer in studies, physical and mental health.