Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A number of youngsters devote a great amount of time to using their handsets on a daily basis. In my opinion, this situation can stem from loneliness as well as a lack of opportunity to play with others. I further believe this development has considerable drawbacks due to several reasons. Firstly, more children are growing up in small families where they are an only child and their parents are busy with their jobs. This situation can contribute to feeling more lonely in life. Therefore, children tend to utilize their phones as a means of communication with their counterparts. Furthermore, the lack of public spaces and recreational facilities such as playgrounds in most buildings can explain why children prefer spending time on their smartphones. They are not able to play physical games in a real playground so they are restricted to the virtual world on their devices. I am strongly of the opinion that this change in children ’s lives has more negative effects on them. Allocating a great amount of time to using mobile phones is detrimental to children ’s both physical and behavioural conditions. Considering physical effects, they lead a sedentary lifestyle and as a result, their overall well-being can be affected as they may suffer from several health problems such as obesity or spinal problems in the future. As for behavioural changes, most of the children who communicate only through technology may become anti-socialized and their social and interpersonal skills may suffer. To conclude, feeling the need to stay in touch with others and not having the chance to play physically can give rise to spending excessive time on personal smartphones by children. I believe this transformation in children ’s lives has substantial disadvantages and affects them in terms of causing physical and behavioural problems in the future.