In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

There is a trend where people choose to go to out-of-town stores and bypass local ones, which may result into many automobiles being on the roads as citizens need them to reach the shops. I believe the benefits of this trend outshine its cons. Firstly, shopping is made more convenient. Out-of-town malls are usually big in size and contain a wide range of goods and services. This saves shoppers from having to move from one shop to another in search of different types of essentials. Therefore, they can be confident that all their needs will be catered for in that one super mall. Secondly, purchasing from small-town shops to large shopping stores in metropolises will benefit car companies. With the increasing need of automobiles to drive to various stores to shop in big cities, car companies will gain more profits. This in turn boosts the car industry. However, there is an obvious drawback to this trend for people will need to use vehicles to reach the supermarkets from a long distance, which means pollution will increase. Most government leaders worldwide advise citizens to use cars less because of their gas emissions, but this trend goes against that. In no time, there will be an escalation of exhaust fumes released to the environment. This is in sharp contrast to when they shop locally where they may decide to walk to the retail shops. In conclusion, this trend has both pros and cons, but I believe the merits come out stronger because customers will experience more convenience in out of town malls and vehicle companies will also benefit because there will be a rise in the demand of cars to cover the long distances.