Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Governments all over the world have different laws regarding the use and sale of narcotic drugs. However, the sale of alcohol and tobacco products is not interfered with. Although these products pose severe health-related risks, I believe that they should remain legal for consumer purchase and use. It is true that the consumption of alcohol and use of tobacco products can be detrimental to one’s health. This is because these items can be extremely addictive and are socially well-accepted. This may lead to excessive drinking which may result in the development of various health conditions such as liver cirrhosis, and even cancer. It is important to note that the leading cause of lung cancer is the use of tobacco products. Additionally, smoking cigarettes also exposes other unwilling individuals to the risks of second-hand smoke. Moreover, these products have the ability to alter the mechanism of the brain, resulting in the increased incidence of mental disorders. For these reasons, it is clearly evident that these legal drugs can have a negative effect on the wellbeing of an individual. Despite these concerns, a sudden ban on these goods can have a dramatic effect on the economy and stability of the nation. Tobacco and alcohol are widely popular drugs, and hence, they have a large number of consumers. The companies which manufacture these products pay large amounts of tax to the government to continue to produce these items. Thus, a sudden ban on these products will cause financial instability due to the sharp decline in the number of customers. It can not be denied these are highly addictive products and people will go to great lengths to satisfy their addiction. This can be done through various illegal markets which will result in an increase in crime rates. This may lead to affect the stability of the nation. In conclusion, even though alcohol and tobacco products can cause various illnesses, prohibition of the sale of these products may not be advantageous to the public and the government. As it may lead to financial and social instability. Thus, in my opinion, the sale of these products should continue.