Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that a nation should self-produce the livestock to provide food security for their people and minimize importing the food. This essay completely agrees with this statement because this country will be less affected by international stock issues and to sustain its native-grown plants. First and foremost, a self-catered country will be relatively safe when there is an international issue in the produce stocks. If a nation relies heavily on others to fulfil its needs, it will be difficult when the source states face problems. There will be a lower supply and higher unfulfilled demand which causes prices to rise. It will eventually cause inflation and make the economic situation unfavourable. For example, when Thailand was hit by hurricanes, it affected the amount of rice exported to Indonesia. Thus in Indonesia, there was a noticeable increase in rice prices causing disruption in market prices. Moreover, in some countries, they have special or native plants that are used as the source of nutrients. These plants are found only in those countries. By independently planting and supplying food for their people, countries can also preserve their native plants. For instance, in Indonesia, Sago is one of the main carbohydrate sources for its citizens in Sulawesi. Other neighbouring states may not grow this plant in their countries. Thus, self-planting this livestock will also preserve the natural diversity and have less dependency on rice. In conclusion, it is important for a country to grow its livestock because they are less impacted when there are problems involved with the exporter states and it can preserve its native plants as natural diversity.