Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Conventional school curriculums place too much importance on topics like history or the arts. Some people disagree with this. In their opinion, educational establishments should teach courses that will improve the employability of their students. I totally agree with this view. History is important. Undoubtedly, it is not beneficial to have a generation of professionals who know absolutely nothing about their culture or history. However, problems arise when traditional subjects take precedence over job-oriented subjects. Learning topics like history or literature might make a person more knowledgeable. However, these topics do not improve the job worthiness of a student. Employers need professional, practical degrees. It is not easy to find employment with a degree in history or the arts. Conversely, science or maths graduates tend to find jobs easily, as they possess the skills required by the industry. Understandably, everyone wants to be able to secure a good job upon finishing their studies. When schools give greater importance to practical or vocational courses, young people can start learning the skills required by the industry from a young age. This will significantly improve their competence. Unemployment figures are increasing rapidly all over the world. If we examine the unemployment situation in any country, it is not hard to see that most of the unemployed are those who lack a useful degree. When schools give increased weight to practical topics, more students will be encouraged to enrol in professional courses at university, resulting in qualifications which will make them more employable. To conclude, history and literature are important, but maths and science are even more so. The ultimate goal of education is to help young people find employment. Consequently, I wholeheartedly agree with the argument that educators should focus on teaching the skills that will prepare their graduates for the workplace.