Many teenagers now have their smart phones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your opinion.

In this modern era, the popularity of smartphones has been increasing among young adults. While there are some benefits associated with having their own smartphones, I believe that the main drawbacks are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage of owning smartphones may be improving teenagers’ interpersonal skills. Getting familiar with cutting-edge gadgets can help them to live in harmony with others. Besides, applying modern computerized mobile applications into children’s lives brings enormous advantages to them. For instance, Apps such as Skype and WhatsApp cross geographical barriers, therefore, cross-cultural communications have been formed among youngsters all around the world. Another perceived benefit is that students can have easy access to modern educational software which is designed to boost their cognitive skills. For example, Duolingo, an application which is created to teach different languages, can help children to become multilingual. Consequently, they will be more likely to apply to international universities in the future. On the other hand, a primary disadvantage of having a mobile phone is the possible exposure to inappropriate content that teenagers can be easily influenced by. As a result, a large number of vices such as smoking, drinking, violent behaviour or becoming drug addicted are cultivated when children are not supervised or given absolute freedom to use their state-of-the-art electronic devices. Furthermore, these captivating electronic phones can be a major distractor when it comes to studying, therefore, the performance of the students who are using their phones while studying, as well as their grades are gradually declining. A further negative is that adolescents are more likely to suffer from cyberbullying. From a social perspective, the number of children who become victims of cyberbullying has been increasing dramatically in recent decades. In addition, the significant role of parents’ monitoring should not be overlooked, as they play an integral role in raising their children’s awareness about the appropriate use of their modern devices. On balance, it is true that owning a smartphone seems advantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its adverse effects in terms of developing vices and being cyberbullied outweigh the advantages.