Public libraries provide a large collection of books to read. Some people argue that they should also provide other hi-tech facilities like computers, Internet, CDs and DVDs. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Technology has now penetrated almost all segments of life these days. All facilities and services are now incorporating technology in different intensities. Users of public libraries should not be excluded from getting the benefits of technology. It is indeed desirable to introduce hi-tech facilities like computers, internet, CDs and DVDs in our libraries. First, users come to the library to read books and to gain knowledge. Many times, it happens that they may not get adequate resources on various subjects. In such instances, the internet becomes extremely useful. Users can search the net and can find out detailed information on almost any topic. Secondly, these days, we can see that the world of publication has now changed, and many books are being converted to CDs and DVDs format. In addition, books, documentaries, and other useful reference materials are now being published in digital form. What is more, handling, maintaining, and storing digital media is way easier than books. Lastly, the life of such material is often longer than books. However, some people argue that a library should not offer such hi-tech facilities as many users of libraries are elderly people who are not tech-savvy and hence cannot use such facilities. Moreover, they say that such facilities increase the cost of handling and subscription fees shall thereby increase. Finally, I think, the library's prime function is to offer material for reference and enrichment of knowledge of the people of society, irrespective of the form of materials. If the call of the hour suggests that hi-tech facilities should be included, a library ought to provide them to serve the community in a better way.