Some people say History is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Proponents of studying history claim that it helps children make sense of their own cultural and social contexts. Knowledge of the past allows us to better understand modernity and, possibly, predict future trends by identifying recurring patterns of human behaviour. More historical literacy could encourage more politically educated decision-making, especially in an era of disinformation, manipulative rhetoric, and romanticisation of the past, which is characteristic of some political narratives. Nevertheless, it should be recognised that political preferences are formed not only by knowledge but also by emotional factors, personal identity, economic interests and media pressure. Thus, although history is not a panacea for all the problems, it nurtures civic awareness. On the other hand, advocates of advancement in science and technology emphasise the importance of adapting education to the demands of a rapidly changing labour market. In an age of innovation, technical thinking and putting knowledge to work are fast becoming a must-have skill. As fields such as genetic engineering and artificial intelligence develop, skills related to computer science, mathematics, and biology become increasingly important, driving progress. However, even in this context, the humanitarian base does not lose its relevance, from my point of view. Understanding historical processes helps to understand more deeply the social and ethical aspects of scientific achievements, as in the case of nuclear technologies or modern biotechnologies. History shows that technological progress without moral guidance can lead to serious consequences. In conclusion, while scientific and technical education is an important factor in modern development, it should not replace the fundamental lessons taught by history. It is a holistic approach that harmoniously combines humanitarian and technical knowledge to educate a generation ready to respond consciously and responsibly to the challenges of the global world.