Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is inevitable that households will produce some waste, but the increasing amount of refuse presents a challenge for governments as historical disposing methods are not practical anymore Some argue a huge proportion of domestic waste can be recycled and reused through setting regulations and rules. I agree that regulation is an effective method, whereas considering other remedies such as education and reward systems have at least the same impact. To begin with, household waste comprises elements ranging from foodstuff to metal, paper and plastics, and local authorities sometimes struggle to handle such a diverse mix of materials. The legislation is offering a helpful solution for decreasing the cost of waste processing. For example, individuals can reduce the amount of refuse by paper pulping and reusing plastics, or they would encounter penalties if they produce more than a fixed amount. The penalties range from warnings to high taxes or even legal justification. Furthermore, there are other practical solutions for encouraging people to take action, like increasing public awareness and establishing reward systems. Firstly, advertisements and campaigns have an important role in directing the public’s mind and behaviour, thus, by introducing the processes of recycling and the positive effect on the ecosystems and the environment, authorities would definitely encourage them to follow this path. For example, showing commercials about teamwork, collecting rubbish from nature, and presenting the effects of gathering waste from water resources to prevent water contamination, attract public attention and environmental awareness. Secondly, offering alternatives such as discounts on their bills or taxes, even the cost of fuel is more deceiving rather than punishment, additionally, constantly doing this would make a habit out of it. In conclusion, it seems mandatory actions are necessary for public enforcement to increase the rate of recycling. However, I assume that other remedies such as offering rewards and educational awareness are more functional and intelligent methods.