the most important aim for science should be impove people's lives. To what extent do you agree and disagree with the statement?

Scientific developments are occurring at a great rate but some of them do not seem to be of help to people.In fact,sometimes scientific innovations are regretted by those who invented them. This essay will argue that science should never harm people but scientists should aim to further their understanding as much as to improve people's lives. On one hand,there is a strong argument that the public good should be the top priority for scientists.They are the ones who have the potential to make discoveries and invent things that can change the world. Electricity,modern medicine,telecommunications and the internet are just some of the scientific innovations that have changed lives for the better. For example,without the invention of the electric light bulb, people might still be living in darkness and ignorance. For example,the invention of vaccines has allowed people to live healthier lives without fear of pandemics that they used to have. On the other hand,sometimes scientists do research just in the hope of adding to their knowledge. The scientists may not know how their findings will be used and whether they will improve people's lives until they have completed their experiments, although they should make absolutely sure that their experiments will not cause harm.The scientist Nobel invented dynamite to help with mining,not knowing that it would one day be used in weapons,and the scientist who discovered the life- saving drug penicillin did so quite by chance. Overall,it seems that science should improve the lives of people and that ought to be one of its aims.It is equally important for scientists, however, that knowledge and discovery are aims in themselves. Scientists are sometimes unaware of how their scientific breakthroughs will be used until their work is done.