In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In the modern era, bulk of the sports personalities indulge in the use of restricted items such as drugs, in order to enhance their stamina. There are various extrapolates behind this scenario that I will explicate in upcoming paragraphs and I will also render some possible remedies for these acts. To begin with the reasons, the prominent one is that they want to prove themselves best in the game which might be by ''hook or crook''. Likewise, In India, a very famous cricketer from the Indian League was found taking injections in 2020, in order to increase his capability to win the game. Moreover, lack of confidence might be another reason behind the drug addictions for the popular hockey, basketball or football players. For Instance, when Jagjeet Sing lost his first position in running in the 2019 semi-finals then he lost his confidence and end-up taking supplements that were banned by the regime in the nation so, that he should be able to increase his immunity to win but later on he was banned from the participation in sports for 10 years after the drugs being found in his blood. Therefore, to avoid all such cases in the country the executives can play a major role by conducting awareness campaigns especially, for the athletes that if any percentage of drug is found in their blood during their competition days then probably there could be a ban on them for a lifetime and they can not participate in any sport. Furthermore, there should be strict regulations implemented that every candidate needs to get a blood test before going on the ground for their final tournaments. Hence, awareness is vital to avoid the use of banned substances and strict policies from the government could be instrumental indeed. To conclude, according to the reasons aforementioned one can reach logical results that the use of drugs by young sport personalities is quite detrimental and this problem should be tackled by adopting solutions carefully for the betterment of society.