In the today’s world, many people own a smartphone. Do you think the advantages of owning a smartphone outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, there is an increasing number of people possessing a smartphone. The writer contends that the benefits of keeping in contact with others and updating news outweigh the drawbacks of phone addiction. Holding people closer regardless of distance should be the primary advantage of smartphones. With the wireless network spreading all over the world, individuals can connect with their friends or relatives living in remote areas or even widen their social circle in other nations. As a result, people can always update their information about each other so that they can tighten their relationships and reduce the feeling of isolation. Without smartphones, letters would be used to keep in touch with people, which is a time-consuming and ineffective method. Another benefit of smartphones is providing up-to-date news. It should be acknowledged that individuals are always frightened of being left behind as they detest to be called old-fashioned. Therefore, they are in the active mood to receive news at any time and anywhere. With the existence of smartphones, their demands can be adapted to the appearance of new information every second. By contrast, there are some remaining drawbacks relating to smartphones, especially phone addiction. It is easy to come across the image of people walking down the street with their eyes stuck to the screen. They spend hours surfing the Internet or accessing social media since they cannot put their phones down. This is a credible point, nevertheless, the government can put a limit on the time residents use their smartphones by applying laws and encouraging them to go outside for other activities. In brief, keeping in touch with others and new information providing immediately can be seen as the pros whereas being addicted to phones is the cons of more and more people owning a smartphone. However, the advantages of phones outweigh their disadvantages.