Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better, alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that staying in prison for longer period is the best way to reduce crime, while others assert that there are other ways to do it. Which is better in the long run? Although the longer prison sentences are useful, I support the latter opinion. On the one hand, it is necessary for prisoners to take a long-run treatment. For example, therapy programs are useful in reducing the number of people who commit crimes again. According to an article in Nikkei newspaper, the number of re-offerings is decreasing among the people who received professional support by therapy consultants. These programs often need a longer time to finish completely, so they can give prisoners plenty of time to think about the negative impacts they committed in the past seriously. Consequently, since prisoners may reflect the crime, there will be few re-offering after longer prison sentences. On the other hand, however, other treatments can be more practical. For instance, charity events which are held in local schools. Research recently conducted by the Ministry of Justice in Japan discovered that there is a trend that prisoners who engage in cleaning events are less likely to commit crimes again. These social events can enhance a sense of belonging and teamwork. Additionally, if prisoners connect with other people through social services, they can feel more confidence about their living after prison. As a result, prisoners can see themselves as social members and try to do good behavior. In conclusion, although some people think the usefulness of longer prison sentences, it is clearly beneficial to support alternative ways to reduce the figure of crimes.