In today’s world many people own a smartphone. Do you think the advantage of owing a smartphone outweigh the disadvantage?

In the era of digital technology, the commonality of people owning a smartphone is a topic for consideration. It is the writer’s view that the exchange of information over distances and the accessibility of smartphones outweigh the lack of attention in users. The most advantageous feature of the technology is that it provides users the ability to connect with others with a similar device. By converting and transferring data, the digital device allows people to chat and make calls with the subject they want without meeting face to face. As a result, people can work and study effectively in groups, they also benefit in their personal life by chatting with their friends or online shopping. Another benefit worth mentioning is the accessibility to advanced phones these days. The prices of owning a modern phone are reducing due to the invention of new models which leave the older ones outdated and losing their value. Therefore, the lower class nowadays can get for themselves a usable advanced technology and the more people using the phone, the more connective the world gets. Take Vietnam as an example, 10 years ago, owning a telephone was harder than a middle-class child gets a Sam Sung today. One of the primary concerns of using these kinds of technology is that it deprives attention and leaves the owner vulnerable to the surroundings. Many people believe that texting while driving is one of the main reasons leading to accidents. This may be true to some extent, but many devices have features that lock themselves, preventing the driver from using them. Furthermore, most of the cars allow people to make calls while driving, which can assist the driver significantly. In conclusion, the fear of neglecting surroundings is outweighed by the phone’s characteristic which communicates from afar and its availability in the modern day. Henceforth, having a mobile phone is completely acceptable.