In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

This day, the longevity of residents is increasing in several countries and leads to overpopulation. However, some people think that having an elderly population has more benefits than negative effects. In my opinion, I think that such a claim is correct to a certain extent. First of all, it is indisputable to believe that the benefits of ageing people outweigh the drawbacks in myriad ways, firstly, a particularly noteworthy positive point is that the senior citizens are the most experienced group. For instance, these seniors have much knowledge so that they can teach the youth to know more in detail, Countries where the ageing population is dominant have higher chances of labour force available to work for national development projects. On the other hand, it seems to me that the ageing population causes some negative impacts as well. One of the main reasons is that the elders are too old to do some specific jobs which required physical strength. For example, an aged group cannot do some jobs like builders or workers. Another disadvantage is that overpopulation leads to many problems including severe traffic jams, lack of food, and pollution. One good illustration of this is that the more humans exist, the more pollutants and exhaust gases will be released. Poverty is another reason to be considered. If their longevity increases, it means that more members will live in a family. Consequently, the remaining relatives must take care of these elder individuals with increased expenses. In conclusion, all things mentioned, I tend to think that it has both merits and demerits. Nevertheless, from my standpoint, the advantages partly outweigh the disadvantages.