Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the industrial revolution, the usage of fuel has risen greatly, therefore the pressure on the Earth's fuel resources has only increased. As a result, many people suggest that the only solution to this problem is to increase the prices of fuels to further reduce overall consumption of this. Personally, I fully agree with this notion as I believe that this will pressure developed nations to find alternative energy sources. First and foremost, such an increase in prices will stimulate the global market to find alternatives that would be more cheaper and beneficial for use. Thus, many international companies will invest in renewable energy, like wind, sun etc, to become large shareholders in the new undiscovered field. For example, as the result of the holy crusades, the Osman Empire took control of the Medditarean Peninsula, which resulted in an overall increase in foreign goods. For this reason, many countries in western Europe were forced to find new ways to reach China and India, therefore this improved the international sea trade. Furthermore, these measures will improve the ecological condition of the world. This is because most pollution sources are powered by these fuels and they are the underlying causes of this. One clear example is Norway, although it is one of the largest sellers of fuels, nevertheless, Norway fully replaced energy sources with the renewable ones. Consequently, they were able to become an eco-friendly country. This is proof that this notion is the easiest route to prevent potential consequences of fuel usage. In conclusion, considering all the previously mentioned information, it is extremely important for us to implement these measures before it is too late.