Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Serious crimes are harmful to society as they put people at a disadvantage and the perpetrators behind them can be adults or young people. However, the punishment for younger people is more lenient rather than the adults because they are still minors. While some people think that both of them should be punished in the same way, I completely disagree because minors cannot be held accountable for their actions. Victims suffer a lot of damages because of crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks, that make them want justice for themselves by having the culprit punished no matter what their age. It is understandable because they are at a loss so they think that every attacker deserves their repercussion. People are bound to feel insecure and scared that the same crimes might occur again if the offenders are being excused because of their age. Because of this, some of them think that people should be thrown in jail for stealing without any age exception because they have to learn about their actions. Nonetheless, people less than 18 years old are considered minors which means that they have to be under adult supervision. They have not yet developed their minds completely so they tend to make rash decisions. Because of this, they are not entirely accountable for their actions. While it is true that they should be given a punishment, it will be different from the adults because they need further guidance. For instance, younger criminals should be punished less tough but their parents should also be aware of their child's crimes. From here, a parent can set a better example for their child so they will not do the same thing. In conclusion, while acknowledging the severity of crimes and the need for accountability, it is essential to recognize the circumstances surrounding young offenders. Minors, being in the process of mental and emotional development, may lack full awareness of their actions. Therefore, I maintain my stance that the repercussions for young offenders should differ from those for adults, emphasizing the importance of guidance and support to steer them away from a path of criminal behavior.