Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many individuals are of the opinion that cities should permit spaces for graffiti while others argue that it should be prohibited. This essay will discuss both perspectives, along with presenting my opinion. On the one hand, graffiti is a form of self-expression and art. Cities providing several areas for graffiti can nurture creativity. This might cause magnificent artworks and bring colour and vibrancy to urban spaces. Moreover, these urban spaces might become tourist attractions. As a result, the welfare level of the city may experience a rise and the tourist revenues might increase. For example, in France, there is a famous graffiti artist named Banksy whose artwork has become one of the most famous tourist attractions in the entire country. I totally agree with this side, in my point of view, not only government should allow it, but it should support graffiti artists too. On the other hand, supporters of the other side claim that there are several causes of why it should be banned, firstly, not all graffiti is considered art, in fact, most of it is painted randomly. Thus, it can affect the general view of towns, additionally, individuals who do that are mostly careless about what they leave behind after they finish drawing. As a result, the image of neighbourhoods can be ruined. Furthermore, criminal gangs usually use this type of paint to communicate with their gang members or their enemies, hence, by allowing that, the government could be helping criminal activities and the crime level of the city might increase. To conclude, allowing spaces for graffiti might nurture the creativity level of the artists and therefore these places might become tourist attractions. But also it might cause a disturbing view in towns and help criminal gangs in different ways. Personally, I believe if this is allowed under limited circumstances, negative aspects can be solved and it can be beneficial for cities.