Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the authority spends a huge amount of money on preserving ancient and old constructions. Some people indicate that it is a positive action as it allows citizens to know history better. However, others argue that old buildings spoil the beauty of the country to some extent and they suggest the government demolish those buildings and build new, modern ones. I completely disagree with this statement and this essay will try to explore the merits of conserving old buildings. To begin with, from my point of view, ancient constructions demonstrate to society how buildings were built in the past. To be more clear, humans might learn through old buildings how the previous generations lived and how it was the city or countryside in the past. Hence,preserved buildings are the only real source for people to have knowledge about their previous offspring's livelihood. Furthermore, historical buildings can be considered as a treasure for that nation. Saying thoroughly, many people will come to see those old buildings which will have a beneficial impact on the government in terms of finance. For instance, the Colosseum building located in Italy brings thousands of tourists every year. Moreover, repairing just old buildings will cost several times less money than building new ones from zero. Owing to this reason, the government may allocate extra money to build new educational institutes or help underprivileged families. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that looking after old buildings and renewing them can have a positive influence on citizens as well as the authority. In terms of citizens, they will be aware of their country’s history and with regard to the ministry, the area will become one of the beautiful sights and a lot of tourists will come to visit. Also, as it is not as expensive as building new ones, it enables the state to spend that money on more important places such as building new educational institutes or planting trees.