Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadventages?

Some professionals believe that when children learn a new language, it is best to learn it at primary school rather than secondary school. If they do, they will be able to use it fluently, and this advantage far outweighs any potential disadvantages. One downside of pupils learning a foreign language at an early age might be that they may mix the grammar of the two languages. Children at the age of 7 or 9 study their language beside another one, and they will get confused about the basics of their mother tongue based on a study at Harvard about language acquisition in children. However, I think this can be avoided if the teachers teach them the differences between the languages in a very clear and simple method. On the positive side, when children learn a new language at primary school, they will be able to speak it fluently. On the opposite, if a child at the age of 16 is learning a foreign language, they will not be able to speak it error-free or fast. For instance, a professor at Cambridge University studied two groups of children, both in primary and elementary school, learning a new language, and found out that the first group was able to speak the language instantly while the second group struggled and could not use it. I think children learning a new language in primary school could create a great advantage for society as a whole, because when they grow up they will be able to travel for work and do projects with different countries. In conclusion, although children might get confused about their mother tongue language, I believe this downside is greatly outweighed by the upside that they will be able to communicate with it easily.