Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

Nowadayd it is commonly claimed that firms should be able to cumulate information about their clients, as it simplify customer service. However, some argue that this should be forbidden, because it may endanger a client's personal data. On the one hand, only by collecting information about a customer can a company make their services easier. Firstly, were a firm to save data from a first collaboration with a person, next time the information processing part wouldn't be necessary. This undoubtedly would make a cooperation simpler for both a corporation and a user. Also, saved information might be subsequently used in terms of choosing a specific product that a certain client is usually interested in. For example, H&M, one of the most popular clouthing shop in the world, collects a data regarding a size of clothes often prefered by a customer, so that it suggest this category during a following shopping. However, some argue that despite these positive aspects, possesion of one's private data may endanger it. In other words, usually firms use this information for their marketing research, not necessarly necessary for the good of their client. For this reason they often share this data with other companies or people working for them. The evidence for this was provided in a recent survey published by the US National Customer Service Organization which indicates that hardly never the data regarding a client's does reamin among a single company. Under thes circumstances, personal information about an individual might be in time used by someone who initially has no right to have it. To conclude, the debate about whether companies should be permitted to posses data regarding their clients is complex and multifaced. Although it can make a positive contribution to the quality of the customer service, it undoubtedly put one's personal infomration at risk.