Some people say that advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it makes people feel dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that advertising has positive effects on the economy because it is an effective method to ramp up sales. Conversely, others believe that it invites negative effects by making people dissatisfied and buying more stuff. Although it possesses negative aspects because it causes impulsive buying, this essay thinks that advertisement brings more positive effects to the companies. On the one hand, people believe that advertisements will cause individuals to feel insufficient and want to buy more of the items. This is because the promotion highlights distinctive features that are superior to the existing stuff in the market. Thus the public will be enticed to try and buy the items. Especially when this marketing program uses influencers to promote their products. For example, a skincare brand pays beauty influencers to review positively their newly launched product. People who see this promotional post will think that the product works well even though these public figures already have healthy and perfect skin conditions before using the products. Therefore, women impulsively buy them because they want to have a better appearance. However, as grown-ups, they can restrain their desire for non-primary needs. In addition, brands without advertising their products, will face difficulty in introducing their innovations to the public. On the other hand, the effective way to introduce innovations to the market is by advertising. This is because brands can emphasize the features of their innovations which have competitive advantages compared to similar items in the market. A marketing campaign is a way to invite people to try and buy their products. Better sales bring more revenue to the company. The profitable company contributes to the positive economic climate. For instance, Shopee conducted many promotional campaigns to enhance its gross merchandise value. This good performance improves the employees’ welfare. This essay believes that advertisements bring positive effects to economic growth through higher sales and better performance. In conclusion, although promotion activities invoke individuals to buy complementary stuff that can enhance their lives, they should be seen as a way to generate more revenue for the companies and affect positively the economy in a greater landscape.