With the increase in computer use, many people feel that school do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mathematics skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advancement of technologies such as computers makes many people believe that schools do not need to put an effort on the abilities of handwriting and calculating. In my opinion, I disagree with this point of view and the reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before the conclusion is reached. The appearance of computers can ease their users to finish their assignments and it provides them with software, which helps them achieve tasks. However, most programs show only results and they do not give their users processing methods or how the answers are calculated. As users, we need to know and be able to check the outputs by using our mathematic skills and not put all our trust in the programs. For instance, working as an engineer demands computers to help them generate results and save their precious time, meantime, they need to understand what methods are used in the programs and be capable of cross-checking them with their calculating knowledge. Moreover, handwriting is not only a basic skill but also a career. As we can see, these days, people use their neat handwriting to create artworks and some of them open a handwriting course for their living. For example, these kinds of people create a new font style, which matches clients' needs for their shops' names, and as a research has been published that the font can affect the attention of customers' decision whether to come to the shops or not. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this idea. Both skills are essential in our lives and they should be taught and cannot be neglected in the schools. Besides, learners can be expert in these skills and apply them to further their careers in the future.