Many people believe that social networking sites (Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

The number of users of social networking sites has been increased rapidly in the recent years. Many people contend that social media sites bring positive outcomes for societies, while others think that the drawbacks are bigger than their benefit outcomes. While there are some negative effects, especially on both individually and socially, I believe that the positive impacts are more useful for our lives. Many people believe that there are many downsides of using social media, notably that affected our mental health. In social media, anonymous identities have become common, leading to the act of attacking strangers without fear to be arrested which has been done massively nowadays. Some people who bully others also build their social media’s persona based on fake persons or identity, causing people who being attacked become prone to the mental health problems. Research has also shown that a constant perfect images that flow in the social media has impacted many people, especially teenager, develop a feeling of anxiety and depression. On the other hand, due to the existence of social media, people have become closer with each other from any different social class. Collaborations between people can be done without to be worried about physical and geographical locations, opening the opportunities of cultural exchanges and global trading. Some research has shown that cultural heritages are more effective to be marketed through social networking sites rather than formally diplomacy events. Thus, this has indicated that social media offer benefits not only for personal matters, but also for nation interests. To conclude, while social networking sites have had many negative sides, I believe that these sites will generate more benefits if people are using it well. However, there are some measures to handle the problems coming from them, including by restricting the users who have anonymous persona to online.