The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable for and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will caused by this today and what can be done to solve these problems?

It is true that most countries choose to keep the historical and ancient towns and cities lived by previous people. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this circumstance, society can take effective steps to mitigate potential problems. As most buildings in these towns and cities were constructed historically, several problems related to residence can be anticipated. The main issue is that living in those old buildings will pose threats to the safety and health of residents. For example, the sewage disposal system, fire alarm system, and waste disposal system in some old residential buildings are extremely hard to upgrade by engineers because of the over-date inner constructions. The only way to improve the architecture to meet the up-to-date safe standard is to demolish those buildings, meaning substantial expenditure for urban planners. However, without reconstruction, it would be very hazardous for residents to live in these buildings and such waste disposal problems will bring environmental pollution detrimental to public health. Therefore, in the long term, increasing number of people will move to another city. There are several actions that governments should take to tackle the problems. Government should encourage private companies to renovate the buildings and build modern residential buildings for people to move. For one thing, those historical buildings are not suitable for residents to live but they manifest the cultural heritage of the country. Tourist companies could be encouraged to make investments in inner design renovation to attract tourists as landmarks, generating revenue and boosting the local economy. Second, the living standard of the local residents will be improved after moving to new buildings. Those talents and workforce will stay to foster the economic development of the city. In conclusion, various measures could be taken to tackle the problems brought by the existence of historical towns and cities.