Nowadays, we are surround by advertising in our daily lives. Some people believe this has a positive effect on society. Others, however, say that it is a negative development. Discuss with both views and give your own opinion.

Commercials have become part of our daily life that we can not avoid, they are everywhere. While some people argue that ads are actually beneficial, few others believe the opposite. This essay is going to discuss both perspectives and why I think that ads are actually bringing an overall positive impact in today's society. As we all might already be aware, the number of advertisements has dramatically ramped up to the point that few people no longer believe in the credibility of those reviews anymore. However, this is not a peculiar phenomenon considering some of them are fake and do not show the real quality of the brand. Their sole purpose is to lure the public to buy the product so they can make more money. For example, this well-known international make-up product recently released a mascara that is claimed to be able to stay for up to 12 hours. Nonetheless, the majority of disappointed users contradict the claim and say that it could only hold for merely 5 hours. That is just one of the many examples people are experiencing. On the other hand, publicities have shown its crucial position on several occasions in people's lives. A significant number of people expressed their frequent encounters with adverts and said that they somehow need them on a daily basis. This is then proven by recent research from the University of Indonesia that estimated around 68% of Indonesians are relying on their choice based on celebrity reviews, or known as endorsements. Endorsement is a type of soft-selling adverts that has successfully influenced a variety of people and quickly became a thing in Indonesia. For instance, the majority of teenagers in my university nowadays follow all these artists on social media and always look at their reviews before buying a product, mostly makeup or skin care. To conclude, even though advertisements have some flaws, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks as long as we all can be careful and choose what type of ads to take into consideration before buying wisely.