In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is not common agreement anymore whether having a university degree is fundamental or not to achieve a good job. Nowadays, multiple young people prefer to be trained at work rather than enrolling in an academic course. This essay is going to debate both the positive and negative sides of work-based training. The main advantage of on-the-job training is a shorter invested time when compared to a tertiary education course. This can be explained by a much more focused approach in the former type of education, avoiding subjects that are not very practical or that are related to research. For instance, if someone decides to work as an electrician, this individual might not need to spend time learning about non-electric related techniques as an engineer would. As a result, the person could be working and financially independent a lot quicker than those who choose an academic path. On the other side, avoiding college also has its drawbacks. The major negative is that not having a university degree may offer you a more limited range of job opportunities in the future. This is the consequence of both less varied knowledge and the fact that multiple employers still require this quality when hiring new employees. In other words, without academic qualification, the person might have fewer job options and, sometimes, might even be limited to a certain company. To conclude, even though work-based training can be a shortcut to a work position, it might result in bigger challenges in the future for the employee. In my view, it is worth spending a longer time in education in order to achieve an academic degree and ensure a more guaranteed future.