Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the government should invest in railways instead of roads. Although some people could think that roadways are essential, I completely agree with this point of view, because rail lines are more environmentally friendly and they could prevent traffic congestion. Funding railways could develop green travel. Primarily, investing in underground or tram lines could reduce carbon emissions. A good example of this is that, if politicians invest in subways or trains, people will use more frequently public transportation. Furthermore, wider and more efficient transportation services could reduce the number of commuters who drive to work. Instead, investing in roads could improve the use of private vehicles and it could produce more and more pollution. An efficient transportation system could cut down traffic jams. Firstly, since more tram and subway lines will be available, the number of cars on the streets and highways is going to be lower. For instance, people will not be stuck on the road during peak hours. In addition, trains typically have a higher capacity rather than vehicles. They can carry a large number of passengers in a shorter time rather than private transport. Additionally, they can operate at relatively high speeds, making them a time-efficient alternative for certain travel routes. Once again, this could reduce the impact of congestion. To sum up, the government should invest in railways instead of roads. For one thing, better services encourage eco-friendly travel, for another they play a crucial role in the amount of traffic on the streets.