Youth unemployment is increasing in many countries in the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to solve it?

In contemporary society, there has been a matter of considerable public concern on the increasing rate of youth unemployment. To appropriately combat the situation, the causes of the issue should be spotted and explored, which, from my perspective, can be attributed to the following several facets. There could be several reasons for the phenomenon, one of which is the mismatch between the techniques taught in educational institutions and the skills demanded by the labour market. AS industries evolve, there is an increasing demand for interdisciplinary talent, yet many graduates possess only master theoretical knowledge in traditional subjects, lacking the practical skills required by employers. Another reason is economic downturns and recessions following the COVID-19 pandemic have exacerbated the issues, as businesses have cut down on hiring to reduce costs, disproportionately affecting young people who are often the first to be laid off. On top of this, automation and technological innovations can displace traditional jobs. Many roles that were previously filled by young adults are now being performed by machines or software. Considering the severity of the issue, it is essential that effective measures should be taken to grapple with the problem. One simple solution is to invite experienced and diverse walks of experts to impart practical knowledge to students. Students can obtain fresh and useful skills from their lectures, which makes them quickly adapt to the job market. Apart from that, the government regulate the use of automation, especially in fields where it displaces human labour. By restricting robots to dangerous and tedious tasks, a large share of the job market can be preserved for young workers, allowing them to apply their skills and knowledge. To summarize, the problem emerged due to three reasons such as skill mismatches, economic downturns and technological advancements, which can only be solved if the schools and public officials take action.