Nowadays, an increasing number of children are using the internet at a very young age and often without adult supervision. This situation may expose them to various dangers online. What challenges do parents encounter when trying to manage their children’s internet usage? What solutions can be implemented to address this issue?

In modern society, a growing number of youngsters are left unsupervised while accessing the internet, which exposes them to numerous dangers. As a result, this can lead to children facing exposure to inappropriate online content and interaction with online predators, and end up being harmed. There are several solutions to tackle the problems, such as implementing or strengthening parental care tools and crystal clear family rules on internet usage. One of the major issues is having access to inappropriate content, such as viewing sexual, violent, and brainrot material. Watching pornography on unrestricted websites is unhealthy for children's mental health; it can confuse their understanding of proper sexual knowledge. Excessive screentime on brainrot videos on social media may disrupt brain growth due to minimal exposure to useful and educational knowledge, which results in poor performance on literacy and numeracy examinations. In other words,the intervention of violent films may affect children's behaviour, causing them to perform brutal or reckless actions to parents or close friends. Besides that, the presence of online predators can jeopardize children by luring them into pitfalls such as shooting nude pictures of themselves or sexting. The most effective ways for dealing with kids browsing the internet without parental guidance are installing parental control apps on their mobile devices to restrict screentime, tracking search history, and strengthening filters. By all these means, children can have better sleeping patterns and acquire more knowledge rather than receiving misleading information from the internet. Nevertheless, parents setting family rules and regulations also allow children to understand the bottom line. For example, limited phone usage in public areas. In conclusion, the best counteracting methods for viewing unhealthy content and having contact with online predators are the installation of parental control apps and the establishment of strict rules for children.