Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. In order to study at university, students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Studying in university requires a humongous amount of money, especially for the tuition fees alone. Therefore, in order to access education in university, students are expected to have money or savings to support them throughout their academic pursuits. There are several reasons why I believe that education should be free, including inclusiveness and the development of the country. Firstly, by not making students pay for their own university education, tuition that is mostly expensive will give a sense of inclusiveness to all citizens regardless of their hierarchies and capabilities in life. Most students tend to give up on their dreams due to limited resources, especially money to support their academic pursuits. On the other hand, the limited scholarship that is given by the university also plays a major role. Pursuing a university education is often a huge step that students should take such as going far away from home, and huge expenses for accommodation, and transportation. Not to mention the expensive tuition fees. Therefore, tuition-free university is a huge step that must be taken gradually by the government. Education should be inclusive to all, not just to some elites. Secondly, a tuition-free university will contribute to the development of the country in the long run. One of these can be seen from the decrease in the number of citizens with less than an undergraduate degree and increased literacy. Developed countries do not build overnight, it started with inclusive education, the rise of citizens that went to university, and facilities that support science development. Thus, as a means to push the development of the country, a tuition-free university is very much fundamental. A tuition-free university can be a major start to advanced national development. To sum up, a university education should not be a burden for students. It should be a huge opportunity taken to all kinds of students regardless of their backgrounds and a factor in accelerating the growth of the nation.