Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is true that many parents today have a tendency to give their children excessive freedom to fulfill their expectations. This writer contends that this nurturing style may seem like an easy way to bring up children without causing conflict, albeit it has far-reaching consequences in the long run. When parents cater to every child’s desire without forcing them to strive for it, this will give them instant gratification. Despite having no immediately conceivable consequence, children educated in this way can get accustomed to instant fulfillment, leading to no appreciation and gratitude for hard work and dedication. Furthermore, this way of raising can develop a sense of entitlement in children, making them less perceivable about boundaries and limits. They can have impulsive behaviors to achieve accomplishment, stimulate a sense of covetousness, and find it difficult to fit in with peers. As children get older, those who have been educated without structure and discipline can find it more challenging to cope with difficulty. This is because when getting familiar with easy childhood, they have no intention of exerting sheer effort to stay relentless and persistent in reaching the pinnacle or going through harsh situations they stumble upon in their career. They may struggle with making crucial decisions or maintaining good financial status due to a lack of willpower and perseverance. In conclusion, without parents' awareness to impose self-regulation and boundaries, it may have a detrimental consequence on children ’s performance later in their adulthood. Thus, striking a balance between rewarding children and educating them is essential for the people with parental responsibility.