The rise of social media has affected personal relatioships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages ?

Social media has played a vital role in our daily lives. Social media can help people stay in touch with their friends, relatives and global movements or strike new friendships but it can cause alter effects when being used incorrectly. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of using social media. The most advantageous factor is that social network helps people keep in touch with what is happening in their city, their country and in the world. Furthermore, there is no limit in categories so people can update any kind of information they want. For example, a person who loves shopping can use social media to find out about the products from brands and companies that they interested. Another point to be considered is that social networks help people reconnect with their old friends as well as make new friends. By sharing experiences and personal opinions, people can gain attention from both friends and strangers. As a result, a conversation is triggered and people will meet individuals who share the same hobbies or ideals and create a community. However, social networks might make people become more self-centred and less sympathetic towards others. With social media, individuals can create many accounts so they are likely to ignore the consequences of their words on other people because all they have to do is pick a new account and start over. This issue can be addressed by more severe punishments and more professional methods to detect those cybercriminals. In conclusion, everything in this world, both natural and artificial, can contain good sides and bad sides of it. This writer believes that using social media for communication will have more benefits than drawbacks, the above essay has enough pieces of evidence to prove the writer's point of view.